top of page

About Us

Our Mission

Our Mission

To maintain for future generations the sites and structures which are significant to the culture, history, and architecture of the city and to encourage excellence in future design.

Our Values

Our History

Preservation Worcester was founded in 1969 by interested local citizens who were increasingly concerned about the future of Worcester’s architectural heritage in reaction to urban renewal programs and the then standard practice of “destroy the old, build anew.” Started as a volunteer organization, Preservation Worcester named Janet McCorison as its first non-volunteer Executive Director in the mid 1970s. Now with more than 600 active members, the organization has a four-person staff headquartered at 10 Cedar Street, an American Foursquare with Colonial Revival details. The building was donated to the organization in 1992 and renovated through a Massachusetts Preservation Project Fund Grant. It serves as a successful model of adaptive reuse renting office space to support operating expenses. Over the years, Preservation Worcester was instrumental is safeguarding important structures including Mechanics Hall, Union Station, the Chestnut Street Church, the Fire Alarm & Telegraph Building and the Quinsigamond School.

Our Team


Megan Blomgren Burgess, Director of Education and Community Engagement

Karina Cardenas, Office Manager
Luis Fraire, Event Sales Manager
Deborah Packard, Executive Director


Dorothy J. Hargrove, President

Joel Kent, Vice President

James A. Welu, Vice President

Jamie S. How, Treasurer
Morris A. Bergman, Assistant Treasurer

Noah R. Bombard, Clerk


Janet A. Birbara
Timothy P. Corrinet

Paul Curci

Robin A. DeAugustinis
David Fort
Elaine K. Gardella, Clerk

Rafael Lazo

Timothy McCann

Denise O' Connell

Robert F. Para, Jr.

Tomoko Sakai

Raymond James Simoncini

Birgit Straehle


Harold Albert

Morris Bergman

Randy Bloom

Erika Helnarski

Pam Hubley

Breanna Kucera

Sandy Meltzer

JoAnn Mills

Elizabeth Mullaney

Andrew Noone

Denise O'Connell

Jan Parent

Marilyn Polito

Eileen Rodgers

Stuart Sadick

Cindy Shenette

Help Us Save the Best to Last

bottom of page